

Prof Dr Joybrato Mukherjee

President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
Rector of the University of Cologne (UzK)

born: 29 September 1973, Düren



since 2023	Career Rector of the University of Cologne	2003	Academic education Habilitation, venia legendi for English Philology
since 2020	President of the DAAD	2000	Doctorate in English Linguistics
2016-2018	Chair of the Hessian University Rector's Conference (KHU)	1999	Second State Examination
2012-2019	Vice President of the DAAD	1998-2000	Trainee teacher M.A. and First State Examination
2011-2017	Chair of the Executive Board of the International Computer Archive of Modern and Medieval English (ICAME)	1997 1992-1997	Studied English Language and Literature, Biology and Pedagogy at the RWTH Aachen University
2009-2023	President of Justus Liebig University Giessen		
2008-2009	First Vice President of Justus Liebig University Giessen	currently	Memberships (current selection) Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies, Cologne
since 2004	Professor (grades C4 / W3) of English Linguistics at Justus Liebig University Giessen (on leave from 2009)		Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Insitute for Behavioral Neurobiology, Bonn
2000-2003	Assistant Professor of English Linguistics at the		Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Cologne
	University of Bonn		Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy, Bonn
2024	Awards (selection) Honorary Doctorate of the Universidad de Los Andes in Bogotà (Colombia)		Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen
2023	Gran official of the San Carlos Order of Merit of the Republic of Colombia		Board of Trustees of the Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology, Aachen
2018	Honorary doctorate from Tbilisi State University, Georgia		Senate of the Leibniz Association Board of Trustees of the German Institute for
2012	Honorary doctorate from the University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine of lasi, Romania		International and Security Affairs (SWP) Board of Trustees of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Bonn
			Council of Die Junge Akademie at the Berlin- Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, Berlin