# Univ.-Prof. Dr. phil. Dr. h.c. mult. (USAMV Iasi, TSU Tiflis) Joybrato Mukherjee

President of Justus Liebig University Giessen (JLU) President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

## **PROFESSIONAL CAREER**

since 2020	President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
2016–2018	Chairperson of the Conference of Hessian University Presidents (KHU)
2012–2019	Vice President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
2011–2017	Chairman of the Executive Board of the International Computer Archive of Modern and Medieval English (ICAME)
since 2009	President of the University of Giessen
2008–2009	First Vice President of the University of Giessen
2006–2019	Principal Investigator at the International Graduate Centre for the Study of Culture (GCSC) of the University of Giessen, funded through the Excellence Initiative I and II
since 2004	Full Professor and Chair (C4/W3) of English Linguistics, University of Giessen
2000–2003	Assistant Professor (Wiss. Assistent) in the English Department at the University of Bonn

#### **EDUCATION**

2003	Postdoctoral degree (Habilitation); venia legendi for English philology
2000	PhD in English Linguistics
1999	Second State Examination
1998-2000	Teacher training programme
1997	Master's degree (Magister Artium) and First State Examination
1992–1997	Studied English Language and Literature, Biology and Educational Science at RWTH Aachen

## **MEMBERSHIPS (SELECTION)**

currently	Global Advisory Board, University of Tokyo
	Junta, Center of Excellence in Marine Sciences (CEMarin), Bogotá
	Board of Trustees of the Herder Institute for Historical Research on East Central Europe (member of the Leibniz Association), Marburg
	General Assembly of the Kerckhoff Institute for Heart Research with Justus Liebig University Gießen, Bad Nauheim
	General Assembly and Advisory Board of TransMIT Gesellschaft für Technologietransfer mbH, Gießen

# DISTINCTIONS

2018	Honorary doctorate (Dr. h.c.) awarded by the Tbilisi State University (Georgia)
2012	Honorary doctorate (Dr. h.c.) awarded by the University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine of Iasi (Romania)
2009	Hessian Higher Education Award for Excellence in Teaching (honourable mention)